2019

2019

Wow, it’s so hard to believe it’s been a whole decade. Looking at the big picture, the decade as a whole was pretty hard on me. I endured trauma. I lost some people I never thought I’d lose (not in death, just life). I said goodbye to both my grandparents who were & will always be, without a doubt, always so much more than grandparents to me. We suffered two miscarriages. We underwent infertility treatments that involved drugs, shots, procedures, surgeries, & more shots. We also lost four of embryos in the process of the two failed IVF cycles.

Despite all that, this last decade was not without its beauty. Despite everything I was going through, I still managed to graduate with my bachelors in 2012. I did that when it would’ve been so easy to just quit.

I moved to Lexington & worked my full time job & babysat on the side in order to be here.

I met Scott & we got married in 2015.

We, despite being told we had a 1-2% chance of ever having children, had two miracle babies. The magnitude of that will never be lost on me.

I graduated from grad school in 2016.

I deepened some friendships & maintained old ones, despite our distance in miles.

I learned how to say no & not feel guilty about it.

I learned that, sometimes, it’s best to cut people off who have nothing good to say.

2019 alone was a year of big change for us. We welcomed Lucie & had to quickly adjust to having two tiny humans. Eli has finally accepted she isn’t going anywhere so I call that a win.

We moved back to the city we felt like was home & are home owners again after several years of not knowing where Scott’s job would take us.

Eli started preschool & is loving it! His ability to learn astounds me & he, with the help of Leap Frog, already not only knows most of his ABC’s, but his sounds, too!! At 2.5 years old!!

Lucie Bear skipped walking & went straight to running.

As far as 2020 goes, my goals are:

1. Get a handle on the health issues I’ve been having. My endometriosis has reared it’s ugly head & I also have a dilated pelvic vasculature (which I’d never heard of) that has caused some problems.

2. I want to be more active for me if for no other reason that I feel better mentally & physically when doing so.

3. I want to carve out some time for myself that does not involve appointments

4. Make time for regular date nights

5. Blog more! I cannot believe I haven’t had the time to blog in a year!

Whatever your goals for 2020, I hope you have a happy & blessed New Year!

As always, thanks for reading

4 thoughts on “2019

Leave a comment