Postpartum Vultures

Ever since I’ve had Elijah I’ve been approached by several individuals who found me on some form of social media one way or another. Individuals who are either wanting to sell me a product, or enlist me in whatever fitness program they’re selling. I can only guess these people found me through hashtags relating to babies & the like (since some noted that they’d noticed I was a new mom). When looking further into the issue, it became clear that I am not alone in this sick phenomena.

For one, I think it’s very sad that people are using motherhood to prey upon people & take advantage of new moms who may be vulnerable in their new bodies & fluctuating hormones in order to make a profit for themselves.

After struggling with an eating disorder for years, I’m finally in a place where I love my body & truly appreciate all it has done for me. Watching it grow & change in pregnancy, birth, & then, somehow, snap back from it all is astonishing to me. But I know too well I didn’t arrive at that mindset overnight & worry about the woman who haven’t arrived in this mindset that are being hunted by these people. Women who, for the first time in their lives, may see numbers on a scale they’ve never seen before. Women who think they’ll never, “get their body back,” & are self-conscious about the body motherhood has given them.

For me personally, it also took me four years to be immeasurably blessed with my sweet boy that my body grew & even longer for me to learn to love my body. Yes, it has scars. Yes, it has a few stretch marks. But I’m finally at a place where all of that is okay & I’m in awe on what my body is capable of. 

 I want to use my body to enjoy the sweet boy I thought I’d never get to have. I want to use it to continue meeting my goals, one being working up to a 5K because running is fun & it’s something we do together-not because I want to lose weight or,”get rid of,” my body.  I want to use it to enjoy life & live it to the fullest, not to count calories, eat, “meal replacements,” or obsess about covering it with creams. I’ve lived that life for far too long & know too well it’s not a life.

If you’re someone preying upon new mothers, or anyone, in order to make a profit for yourself, shame on you.

If you’re being targeted by these individuals, know it isn’t about you & your body is absolutely amazing just the way it is. ❤

3 thoughts on “Postpartum Vultures

Leave a Reply

