Trauma & The Election Of 2016

For many, the results of the election have shocked & shaken them to their core.

As a survivor of sexual assault, I am one of those people. I cannot fathom how I will ever explain to my children how someone who is a rapist & a bully became president of the United States. I cannot fathom how I, and so many other victims of such vile attacks on their bodies, will cope with the knowledge that our commander and chief condones such behavior.

I saw a meme on Facebook earlier that I felt compelled to repost. It read: People ask why women don’t report sexual assault. You got your answer: a man can have double digit accusers & still be elected President. Hours later, a woman commented something to the effect of, “accusers true but hasn’t been convicted of anything.” I read it…& I cringed. That, the idea that women falsely accuse men of rape, is a huge issue, & misconception at that. In reality, studies show that only 2-8% of rape allegations of false (Soraya Chemaly, 2014.)

The belief that women, for whatever reason, would make up rape allegations is absurd & it saddens me just how much this belief runs in the world we live in still today, despite the fact that it has been disproven many times.

Along with myself & fellow survivors, I know many other groups are also now concerned for their safety. One of those groups is the LGBT group. I can’t tell you how many friends I have seen post statuses saying as much. People I love & care about that worry what their fate will be now that the unthinkable has happened.

& then there are minorities. People of color, people from different lands, parents of children who they international adopted that are now terrified.

Never in my life have I seen, or heard of crisis lines exploding in the wake of an election or presidential win. I cannot say that after the election of 2016.

If you or someone you know needs extra support during this time, please refer to the below list from Project Heal:

*National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 24/7: 1-800-273-8255. You can also chat: http://suicidepreventionlifeline.org
*National Sexual Assault Hotline (RAINN) 24/7: 1-800-656-4673. You can also visit online.rainn.org to receive support via confidential online chat.
*The Trevor Project Hotline (LGBTQ+) 24/7: 1-866-488-7386). You can also chat online here http://www.thetrevorproject.org/pages/get-help-now.
*I’mAlive 24/7: https://www.imalive.org An online chat crisis network staffed with certified and trained volunteers, for people uncomfortable talking on the phone.
“If you are in a life threatening emergency, call 911 or go to the emergency room. Right now. If anyone knows of any additional helpful hotlines or support resources, please comment. Love and solidarity, always, to everyone. Take care of yourself, take care of each other, and reach out if you feel unsafe. You are not alone,” (Project Heal).

2 thoughts on “Trauma & The Election Of 2016

  1. I don’t know how anyone can doubt his accusers since Trump himself admitted he assaults women! His own words, he doesn’t wait he just grabs them../kisses them etc. It is saddens me that rape culture is so prevalent and it’s not going to get any better with someone like him as president. The fact that so many people can just excuse a sexual assault conversation as “locker room talk”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

