What Is Wrong With Our Society?

Specifically in the area of weight obsession.

In the past two weeks, I’ve started reading some materials about pregnancy (What To Expect When You’re Expecting, a book my Dr’s office gave me, & on the web) & I cannot tell you how many times I’ve read text warning women not to gain too much weight, or talking about the acceptable amount of weight to gain, not to eat too much because you don’t really need extra calories until the second trimester, etc, etc.

Is that really what a pregnant mother’s focus should be???? Weight gain???? Let me tell you something, as someone who has undergone grueling infertility treatments that were failure after failure, I don’t give two fucks how much weight I gain.

That is certainly not my main concern given all we’ve went through to get here.

Maybe that’s one gift infertility gave me. As someone who struggled with eating disorders for over 10 years, you’d think I’d be very concerned about this whole weight thing & the funny thing is I’m not. At all.

I don’t understand why the text we are given to read about pregnancy tend to focus soooo much on this. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen it already in What To Expect When You’re Expecting. The other book my Dr’s office gave me is much of the same. In talking about your first appointment, both said something to the effect of your Dr. will talk to you about appropriate weight gain. Well, mine did not & I couldn’t be more thankful.

As someone who struggled with ED’s, I can so see how triggering that would be for someone with an eating disorder (past, or present). In fact, some treatment centers now have programs SPECIFICALLY for pregnant women with eating disorders…..& society wonders why…..

Note: I understand pregnant women shouldn’t down a gallon of ice cream daily, or weekly for that matter lol HOWEVER, I also don’t feel that weight gain needs to be stressed so heavily. If you are at a normal weight pre-pregnancy, you’re probably going to be just fine.

This post was more, or less a rant but I do plan on discussing them more in depth with my nutritionist &, hopefully, two other girls I know who had ED’s in the past & then became pregnant later.Β Stay tuned!

What are your thoughts on the heavy emphasis of not too much weight gain/acceptable amounts in pregnancy literature??

6 thoughts on “What Is Wrong With Our Society?

  1. I have never had an eating disorder, but I am very conscious of my weight and the way my body looks to me. The changes my body have been through during infertility treatment and my pregnancy haven’t been easy on my mind. The doctor told me the usual- gain 25-35lbs…eat healthy…you only need an extra 300 calories a day blah blah blah. But I have actually had the problem of not gaining enough weight and at 30 weeks I am only 8lbs up. My doc hasn’t said it’s an issue but I can’t help but worry because I don’t fit in the ‘norm’. Lots of people have commented about it. I am constantly getting people telling me I need to eat more – I’m too skinny – especially this week where I’m eating out with work colleagues every night this week. I get a lecture of ‘Dani you need to eat more, you need to eat this, you need to eat that, you should be eating for two’. But I literally cannot eat anymore without being sick, there is no room! And then I begin to feel guilty and worry about my baby- is she developing ok still??!
    Unfortunately all the books, apps and articles about pregnancy weight gain will make you feel bad in some way of you are not falling within the ‘boundaries of normal’, but actually my doctor isn’t concerned- and she is the most important one I listen to-I hope!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree that your Dr. is the way to go…everyone has an opinion it seems & it doesn’t make their’s right.
      My game plan is to let my body do whatever it needs to do. Healthy baby is all I care about through all of this.
      Best wishes to you & little chick! ❀

      Like

  2. I agree! I hate hearing things in the media about how pregnant women should watch their weight and I’ve even seen people commenting that they use pregnancy as an “excuse” to be greedy and eat loads. Firstly for a lot of women the morning sickness is so bad and only having a full stomach helps and secondly, what matters is the health of the baby and a happy mum! And don’t get me started on the pressure for women to have a slim post baby body.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve actually found pregnancy really liberating. For me, I probably have had a fairly dodgy relationship with my body since my teens. (Always thought I was fat… Looking back at pictures of me then, I really wasn’t.) Spent a long time with an ex who always made me feel like I was fat. (I wasn’t.) Then IVF meds, immunology meds, etc… Made me gain a TONNE of weight. (Suddenly yes I really was overweight. After never being classed as that before. Always a UK size 8-10 prior to meds.) This time last year – lowest ebb with regards to the whole weight thing. IVF weight gain, pregnancy weight gain, no baby… miscarriage comfort eating weight gain. Feeling terrible about my horrible body that couldn’t carry a baby.

    So to be pregnant, it has almost given me a free pass to stop worrying about it. Not straight away. Initially I felt like, urgh, I look fat, not pregnant. But once I properly started feeling/looking pregnant rather than fat (around 15 weeks) I started feeling way better. I stopped weighing myself after years of weighing myself at least once a day. I am kind of horrified by the stretch marks on my stomach and my boobs are a mess BUT I’m finally pregnant so I am going to stop worrying about that. I can lose the weight later. Right now, keeping the baby alive is the priority. I kind of don’t give a s*** any more about weight. I’m sure I will later, but I have time…!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

