Balancing Work & Infertility Treatments

Last week, I wrote a post on work & infertility where I ask you readers how you balanced both.

To recap, working and undergoing infertility treatments is hard. For many women, this can sometimes even be impossible.

You need the money to afford the treatments but, in turn, may not be able to attend the appointments/procedures required. It’s a slippery slope.

While everyone’s situation is unique to them, I feel like the feedback I received on my earlier post was good food for thought.

Here is what you ladies shared with me:

-Several women who responded reported working jobs from home in order to have control of their schedules. By doing so, they avoid forfeiting an extra income & still get to have a more flexible schedule that allows them to attend appointments.

-Others said they reduced down to only part time positions in order to do the same. While they did take a pay cut in doing so, they also got to keep some of their income & still maintain more of a flexible schedule.

-Some of the ladies shared that being teachers allowed them to make their infertility appts because 1.) they could schedule appointment later in the day (verses a 8-5 job) & 2.) their summers were able to be utilized for treatments.

-Scheduling appointments super early around 7 (if possible), or 8.

-This was a piece of advice unique to me in beginning a new job from Dani at The Great Pudding Club Hunt: “You could potentially be upfront with your new employer when you negotiate a start date to say I can start now, but I should tell you that I will have roughly this many doctors appointments in the coming 2 months..do you think we could work out a plan? You don’t need to tell them why exactly.”

-Dani also added, “I have also been really open with my employer about my treatment….so I gave them lots of warning that I would be on sick leave at some point during week X, and so blocked out meetings/arranged for cover for the whole week, even though I knew I would only be out for 1 or 2 days. That seemed to work for me.”

Nara from Zero To Zygote said, “I think in terms of the appointments, what helped me was making a spreadsheet (geek!) listing out the dates and the possible days I would need to be free, based on my dates in IVF 1. This meant that I had a good idea of when I would need to try and be more “flexible” at work and also when we couldn’t be away, etc.”

-Also from Nara, ” I’d take the week off for stims – when you have to go in every other day for scans. In the event, I didn’t need to as I was working my notice and they don’t care if you’re in or not! But I definitely think you need to 1) Know what the possible date ranges are; 2) Preferably take time off when you have a bunch of appointments (mainly stims, egg collection) as that is a lot less stressful than trying to make excuses at work.”

An Update On My Situation:

Ultimately, I was offered the job I spoke about in my previous post & accepted it. I’ll be starting tomorrow.

I’ve decided to give it a shot &, if it’s impossible to make appointments &/or the job itself just isn’t for me, I can step out.

In the meantime, we’ll have some extra income to put back for future infertility treatments!


What do you ladies think about this list?????? Is there anything you’d add??????? 

5 thoughts on “Balancing Work & Infertility Treatments

  1. congratulations on your new job! How far away is your clinic from your house? Do you think you’d be able to get early appointments there and still make it to work ontime? I think though it is hard managing work with infertility treatment, is can be manageable. It helps if you have options like flexi time or if your boss is understanding about you needing time off for appointments

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your new job! Loved reading your post as I am hoping to begin the surrogacy process within the next year or two. I also am beginning a new career and have no idea how I’m possibly going to be able to make it work. I’m sure we’ll figure it out though! Only time will tell. Good luck with everything!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

