Advice From Forrest Gump

“My mama always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”

I’ve found the above to be true several times throughout my life. Sometimes during the best of times and sometimes in the worst of them. But that’s what a box of chocolate is like, right? We aren’t going to like all of the flavors because we don’t know what’s inside them until we bite in.

Infertility is like one of those chocolates I bit in when I was younger, grimaced, and spit out. Unfortunately, when you’re a grown up, spitting it out doesn’t work as well. So you deal…the best way you know how. You deal with prayers, support, encouragement, and lots of invasive treatments entailing shots, surgeries, procedures, and the like.

Recently, however, we’ve gotten another chocolate…in the most unexpected of ways.

If you follow this blog, you know that I was recently diagnosed with endometriosis. Friday was our follow up appointment post surgery with my new, & hopefully forever, gynecologist. She read the surgery report to us, stating I had significant endometriosis that was covering both ovaries (which she removed). While I was out (PRAISE THE LORD), an HSG was also done and both tubes were clear. She also noted that this could’ve caused my bad egg quality for both IVFs. Looking at the incisions, she was happy with how they looked. She also did an exam (which is always a joy) post surgery noting everything looked good.

Right now, our plan to get pregnant with her is to call her when I get my period. She’s going to put me on Femera (since I told Clomid made me batshit crazy LOL) to induce ovulation in hopes that this will help us get pregnant on our own. She also wants me to keep taking Pregnitude to improve my egg quality.

All things considered, this is wonderful news for us. During our last meeting with our old RE, he basically gave us no hope of ever having biological children. He advised us to look into adoption and embryo adoption. He also informed us there was no way to improve bad egg quality, nor was there a way to decipher what may have caused it.

Am I still angry that man wasted nearly 30, 000 of our money, dashed our hopes and dreams, killed our embabies, and put me through countless procedures, etc that couldn’t have done a bit of good? You bethca.

Am I also thankful that, now, we actually have a hope of being parents again? You betcha!

When I got home from our appointment on Friday, I took an ovulation test. I’d been taking them all week trying to see if a positive would ever show since the endo was gone. For the first time in my life, I FINALLY got one of those so coveted smiley faces. Things are looking up ❀

IMG_2763

16 thoughts on “Advice From Forrest Gump

Leave a Reply

