Disgusted

Yesterday, I read something that absolutely sickened me.

It was an article from HuffPost talking about a new network that is picking up, “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo!” & just how utterly ridiculous that was.

I could not agree more.

honey_boo_boo_pageant_photos_2

For those of you who don’t know, the show was canceled by TLC after more & more evidence built up regarding the child’s mother, “mama June,” dating a convicted child molester. What’s worse is that said child molester, who spent 10 years in jail where I hope he got what he deserved, was sentenced for molesting her oldest daughter when the girl was 8 years of age!!!

& now, there she was, dating this man!!ย The same man who molested her oldest child when she was around the age of the show’s star, Honey Boo Boo.

Seriously??????

First of all, I have no words for what a pathetic excuse of a parent this woman is….but what I do wonder is whether, or not she is aware of the long lasting effects of sexual abuse.

Has she ever heard of PTSD? Has she ever experienced crippling panic attacks, flashbacks, or nightmares that wake you up late at night drenched in her own sweat?

It’s been roughly 4 years since I was last sexually assaulted. &, even though I’ve came further than I ever thought possible in those 4 years in my healing journey, I still feel the effects of what happened to me.

I still wake up some nights, though they are rare now, covered in a pool of cold sweat. I have to change my clothes, sleep on top of the covers because my sheets are too wet for me to fall back asleep.

I have to hold my therapist’s hand when I lose myself for a moment while talking about the memories. I did that today…for 15 minutes..4 years after this last happened to me. 4 years after I lost saw his face…

& now here he was, right smack dap in front of the oldest child’s face to remind her of the trauma every.single.day.

Does this woman, who has already subjected one child to a lifetime of hardship, even realize this?

I would venture to say she has no clue.

Second, regarding the network that is picking up the show again, shame on you.ย 

How on earth they think it’s a good idea to sweep child abuse under the rug & provide her 5 more seconds of fame for doing so is beyond me.

Not to mention the fact that it discounts everything her daughter went through. Everything the youngest will likely go through as well. & also what many other victims of sexual abuse go through as well.

That, my friends, is rape culture at its finest.

2 thoughts on “Disgusted

Leave a Reply

