What Bill Cosby’s Confession Reveals About Rape Culture

Before today, I’d never heard of Marc Lamont Hill. I didn’t, “follow him,” on Twitter until seeing the following featured in an article by HuffPost:

FullSizeRender

For me, those two sentences say it all. Why is it, after 40 women came forward with the same story of being drugged & raped by the same man weren’t believed until he himself confessed??? 40:1. That’s alarming. But that’s rape culture at its finest.ย 

Something else that should alarm you: after Cosby admits to terrorizing countless women, a large group of people defending him remains. I’ve skimmed articles downplaying his sex crimes as a mere scandalous good time. I’ve seen people quick to defend him, saying that this is only happening because he is an African American man. I’ve heard others say it is because of his money.

To put it (not so) lightly, I don’t give two shits what Bill Cosby’s-or any other man’s-race is. If you’re a rapist, you’re a rapist. It’s really that simple.

& then there are the people who readily admit Cosby’s guilt but continue to defend him. Saying he, “made a mistake,”

“was sorry,”

“admitted what he’d done.”

I heard the same speal when Josh Duggar’s admission came out.

“He was just a kid.”

“He knows what he did was wrong.”

“That was a long time ago.”

I read these things. I heard these things, sometimes even from people I cared about. & I bit my tongue and walked away.

When you’re more sympathetic to an abuser than you are to those they hurt, you’re part of the problem. You’re enforcing rape culture & all the repercussions that come along with it.

The last thing I want to touch on here, is addressed to those asking: “Why’d they wait so long to say anything?”

“Why didn’t they report it when it happened?”

“Did they have a rape kit done?”

According to RAINN, only 32% of rapes are ever reported.

68% are NOTย reported to the police.

This is the case for a variety of reasons. Maybe the victims were so traumatized they emotionally couldn’t handle going forward in reporting these heinous crimes. Maybe they even suffered from PTSD, or Rape Trauma Syndrome as a result of the assault.

Maybe they were intimidated by Cosby’s fame & financial means.

Until recently, they probably all believed they were an isolated incident & no one would ever believe them.

Most of the above were the case for me after being date raped regularly over a 3 year period. Reporting my rapist & making note of what he did to me will always be one of the things I most wish I would’ve done. Even if no one believed it, it would follow him around on his record for years after. I kick myself every time I think about that.

I couldn’t bring myself to go through with this at the time because of severe PTSD & the knowledge that nobody would’ve believed me. So I kept silent.

That is rape culture. That has to stop.

b5a958f35dfbdab32bc74969bca6a27c52784436894e8596c69e5bf2e75819774ae98aeee1a9e10b8734f497af773597

4 thoughts on “What Bill Cosby’s Confession Reveals About Rape Culture

  1. I have not posted anything about this for the simple fact that I don’t think that I can make myself saying something without sounding immature about the topic. This is pathetic. Because he is a celebrity it should make an impact on society, but instead they are too busy trying to defend someone that they watched growing up and don’t want to believe something like this happens everyday.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

